About: Bios


Mike Assante

Michael Assante is the Director of Industrials and Infrastructure at SANS Institute, an area focused on securing organizations that make, move, and power our world. He is also the SANS ICS & SCADA Lead and serves as a Senior Associate with the Strategic Technologies Program for CSIS. Prior to SANS, Assante served as VP and CSO at American Electric Power, was a strategist at the INL, and the first CSO at NERC. He has testified before the US House and Senate and was an initial member of the Commission on Cyber Security for the 44th Presidency. Assante also co-led the international steering committee that created the most widely respected industrial control systems security skills certification program, the GICSP His work in ICS security has been widely recognized and was selected by his peers as the winner of Information Security Magazine's Security Leadership Award for his efforts as a strategic thinker. The RSA 2005 Conference awarded him its Outstanding Achievement Award in the practice of security within an organization.

Tim Conway

Technical Director - ICS and SCADA programs at SANS, responsible for developing, reviewing, and implementing technical components of the SANS ICS and SCADA product offerings. Formerly, the Director of CIP Compliance and Operations Technology at Northern Indiana Public Service Company (NIPSCO), responsible for Operations Technology, NERC CIP Compliance, and the NERC training environments for the operations departments within NIPSCO Electric. Previously, an EMS Computer Systems Engineer at NIPSCO for eight years, with responsibility over the control system servers and the supporting network infrastructure. Former Chair of the RFC CIPC, Chair of the NERC CIP Interpretation Drafting Team, Chair of the NERC CIPC GridEx Working Group, and Chair of the NBISE Smart Grid Cyber Security panel.

Ted Gutierrez

Ted Gutierrez, CISSP, GICSP, and GCIH, is the SANS ICS Curriculum and Utility Product Manager helping to ensure our ICS-focused training exceeds expectations and fully addresses the learning needs of our students charged with supporting critical ICS systems. He is also co-author of SANS ICS456 - Essentials for NERC Critical Infrastructure Protection designed to help entities achieve the cybersecurity and compliance objectives of NERC CIP.

Mr. Gutierrez has over twenty-five years of business and operations experience supporting the electric utility, airline, automotive, and wood product manufacturing industries. Most recently, he was the Director of Operations Technology & NERC Compliance at Northern Indiana Public Service Company (NIPSCO) responsible for NERC 693 and CIP program development, standards compliance, and the support of the related operations technology ICS and SCADA systems.

"This is best-in-class NERC CIP training. The courseware provides valuable compliance approaches and software tools for peer collaboration to build consent on implementation" - Jeff Mantong, WAPA

"An excellent course that identifies CIP implementation through audit response" - Kevin Money, Iroquois Gas

Doug Wylie

Doug Wylie, CISSP currently directs the SANS Industrials and Infrastructure (I&I) portfolio and practice area, helping companies fulfill business objectives to manage security risks and develop a more security-effective workforce. He is a seasoned business practitioner with more than two decades of cross-sector experience that spans critical industries where Information Technology (IT) and Operational Technology (OT) systems converge. Previously, Doug was Vice President, Product Strategy for an industrial security software startup, and also Director of Product Security and Risk Management at Rockwell Automation where his leadership established the company's industrial security focus, risk management, and security quality & value programs.

Doug is a Certified Information Systems Security Professional, holds numerous patents and was recognized by The White House for his contributions to the execution of Executive Order 13636 and development of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF). He is an accomplished writer and speaker, active contributor to global industry-focused initiatives, and he received the 2013 SANS People Who Made a Difference in Cybersecurity award.